Skip to main content

What's Considered a Concrete Masonry Unit?

The Checkoff utilizes these four basic criteria to determine what constitutes a concrete masonry unit (CMU) covered by the reporting and assessment requirement.

1. Materials used in manufacturing

Only units made with “dry-cast concrete” are assessed.

Masonry units made with other materials like clay, adobe, pressed wood, etc. are excluded.

2. Method of Manufacturing

Only units made on a mechanized equipment such as a block machine that utilizes vibration and compaction to form the product are assessed.

Units made with wet-cast concrete (precast), units made by compacting materials by hand in a mold, and other variations, are excluded

3. Purpose of unit

Only units manufactured for use in masonry construction are included. “Masonry” means a built-up construction or combination of building units bonded together with or without mortar, grout or other accepetd methods of joining.

Examples of excluded units include concrete brick made specifically for utility purposes, hardscape units for pavements, and retaining walls.

4. Size of unit

Only units with an actual width (or bed depth) of 3 inches or greater are included.

An example of an excluded unit would be thin adhered masonry veneers.